Boggs, Niekamp Among Award Winners at Honors Convocation

Boggs, Niekamp Among Award Winners at Honors Convocation

Capital University seniors Devan Boggs and Spencer Niekamp earned the highest athletic honors Wednesday at the Capital University Honors Convocation at the campus's Mees Hall Auditorium.


Boggs, a member of the softball team, earned the William F. Bernlohr Award for achievement in athletics and scholarship, as well as responsibility, leadership and religious principles. Niekamp, a member of the men's basketball team, was named winner of the Gene Slaughter Award for Athletic and Academic Excellence.


A West Jefferson native, Boggs became the softball program's fourth ever All-American last spring after leading the Crusaders and finishing among Ohio Athletic Confernece leaders in on-base percentage (.500), slugging percentage (.789), batting average (.459), runs (33), hits (61) and triples (4). For her performance, she also earned first team NFCA Division III All-Central Region, first team Capital One Academic All-District VII first team and first team All-OAC accolades.


Boggs, who earned the Slaughter Award last April, currently leads the Crusaders in batting average, doubles, triples, home runs and runs batted in. Already the program's career leader in doubles, she is just two doubles shy of tying the OAC career doubles mark.


Boggs currently carries a 3.53 cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale, and is a member of the school's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. She is majoring in exercise science/pre-physical therapy.


Niekamp, a native of St. Henry, Ohio, was named a second team All-American and the OAC's Player of the Year after leading Capital to its second straight conference regular season title. He led the Crusaders and finished among league leaders in scoring (15.3 points per game) and rebounding (5.5 rebounds per game) while shooting 48.8 percent from the floor, 47.2 percent from 3-point range and 81 percent from the free throw line.


The men's basketball program's 12th all-time leading scorer, Niekamp also earned first team All-Region, first team NABC All-District and first team All-OAC honors. He maintains a 3.50 GPA and is majoring in marketing.


Several other Crusaders were recognized for high academic achievement.


Senior Nate Nasrallah (Norton, Ohio), an Academic All-American and member of the Capital football team, was selected as the Rev. John W. Mattern Alumni Prize winner, recognizing "the outstanding senior man who has participated in co-curricular activities and is entitled to the highest honors in scholarship." Nasrallah was also picked for the Outstanding Senior Philosophy Thesis Award.


Senior Taylor Rindler (St. Henry, Ohio) of the women's golf team was one of three honored with the Financial Executives Institute Award for outstanding achievement in finance or accounting. Cross country/track and field junior Erik Morris (Cincinnati, Ohio) received the O.H. Hoversten Christian Business Ethics Award.


Senior Michael Sommer (Celina, Ohio) of the men's basketball team earned the Dr. Boyd Bowden Student Athletic Trainer of the Year honor, while senior Aimee Hall (Amanda, Ohio), a member of the track and field team, garnered the To King Kwan Teacher Education Award for the outstanding senior in Adolescent/Young Adult Education.


A number of student-athletes earned admission to the National College Athlete Honor Society, or Chi Alpha Sigma – Ohio Iota Chapter. Inductees must have a 3.40 GPA or higher and be of junior or senior academic standing.


See below for the full list of 2013 inductees into Chi Alpha Sigma.


Sarah Bogen (Women's Track and Field)

Nate Campbell (Baseball)

Derek Colston (Baseball)

Emma Caputo (Softball)

Chris Colatruglio (Men's Track and Field)

Jessica Cooper (Women's Cross Country)

LeAnna Cotton (Volleyball/Softball)

Maggie Donnellan (Women's Soccer)

Michael Flegal (Baseball)

Michelle Geiger (Women's Soccer)

Melanie Graeff (Women's Soccer)

Andrew Grillo (Baseball)

Doug Gugel-Bryant (Men's Tennis)

Olivia Hein (Women's Soccer)

Justin Hoying (Baseball)

Aaron Ingle (Men's Soccer)

Sara Ireland (Women's Tennis)

Katie Janz (Women's Soccer)

Kelsey Kaiser (Women's Soccer)

Anthony Macioce (Men's Soccer)

Seth Nelson (Football)

Madison Palmer (Women's Soccer)

Derek Peters (Baseball)

Marissa Price (Volleyball)

Shelby Rohr (Women's Cross Country/Track and Field)

Christian Ross (Baseball)

Lauren Roy (Women's Soccer)

Leanne Schaefer (Volleyball/Women's Track and Field)

Jacob Thuman (Baseball)

Melissa Verhoff (Volleyball)

Mark Williams (Men's Golf)

Brian Wyer (Baseball)