Taylor Manivanh Wins Long Jump on Day One of the Rick Meindl Last Call

Pictured: Taylor Manivanh (photo credit: Joe Maiorana, Impact Action Sports Photography)
Pictured: Taylor Manivanh (photo credit: Joe Maiorana, Impact Action Sports Photography)

By: Sean Neidig, sports information graduate assistant

COLUMBUS, Ohio – With just one week before hosting the Ohio Athletic Conference Indoor Championships, several members of Capital University Women's Track & Field showed strong result on the first day of the Rick Meindl Last Call on Friday.

Taylor Manivanh was Cap's top finisher of the day, taking first place in the long jump with a winning leap of 5.52 meters. The mark was a personal record by almost a quarter of a meter. Emily Hilt also competed in the long jump, placing 10th with a jump of 4.81 meters.

Four Crusaders took part in the 60-meter hurdles, led by Niamani Mayes in third and Olivia Quinter right behind her in fourth. Mayes covered the distance in 9.65 seconds and Quniter was right there with a run of 9.68 seconds. Emily Hilt earned a top-ten spot with a sprint of 10.30 seconds and Abbey Bodeker finished 14th with a time of 10.91 seconds. Mayes, Quniter and Hilt all qualified for the finals on Saturday.

Quinter and Mayes also each took part in the 60-meter dash. Mayes finished 12th and qualified for Saturday's finals with a sprint of 8.33 seconds, a new personal record. Quinter narrowly missed qualifying for the finals with a 13th-place run of 8.35 seconds.

In the women's high jump, Elona Greenhoff earned a fifth-place finish with a leap of 1.60 meters, just 0.01 meters off of her personal best. Blair Bryant placed ninth with a jump of 1.45 meters, a new personal record.

Three Crusaders competed in the weight throw and both Kassie Lee and Taylor King placed inside the top ten. Lee's best throw of 13.22 earned her seventh and King placed 10th with a final throw of 12.39 meters. Gracie Pesicka placed 15th with a throw of 11.92 meters.

The second day of the meet will take place on Saturday and will begin at 10:00 a.m.